Finding out we were pregnant… with Twins!!!

PicMonkey PhotoIt was the morning on 26th august 2013 that i had realized that i was a few days late. At that point i didn’t want to get my hopes up that i was pregnant as me & Jamie had been trying for 3 months(which isn’t long really but it felt like a lifetime!). Even though Jamie & I had agreed that we wouldn’t actually ‘try’, We had agreed on not using any contraceptive and if it happened it happened. We agreed on this so that we wouldn’t be disappointed each month my monthlies made an appearance.

Jamie was in work that day and i was in my mothers on my day off. I gave my sister a text message explaining that i could be pregnant and that i was late. she told me she had an unopened pregnancy test in her wardrobe since she had my nephew a few months back. So i went and got that from her wardrobe and did the pregnancy test , They were the longest minutes of my life!!Waiting and waiting .. my nerves were through the roof, the time was up.. and the big fat positive came up with a ‘3+ weeks’. I couldn’t believe it!! i was over the moon! i quickly messaged Jamie with a photo of the pregnancy test result (i know i know, coward lol!!) He was ecstatic!! It was really happening, we were going to be a proper family!!

That evening Jamie took me to our local ‘Asda’ to get another pregnancy test just to Confirm that i was in fact pregnant, and of course another big fat positive!! That night i told my mum and dad and they were over the moon for the both of us and excited to be  grandparents! For some reason i was so scared to tell my parents as i was 21 and because I’m the youngest i thought they would be disappointed, but how wrong was i. Now the waiting game began for the ultrasound which dragged.  20130828_201245

Well the day had finally arrived for our first ultrasound – October 21st 2013. That morning i was so ill it was unreal. My nerves were through the roof and the journey to the hospital felt like forever.
We arrived at the ultrasound department at our local hospital,Sat down and waited for my name to be called out. i couldn’t help but worry, i wanted this so much!  Jamie assured me that everything would be okay and joked “i bet you its Twins”. .. “Don’t be silly” i replied.The Sonographer called out my name, it was my turn! i entered the room and was asked to lie on the bed and she smothered my belly with freezing cold gel. The sonographer started the ultrasound, I was so worried in case it would be bad news as i’m sure it goes through everyone’s minds at some point in early pregnancy. She studied the screen and said “Ooh Congratulations, its twins!!”. My heart was pounding and i couldn’t believe it . “you’re joking!!” i replied as i looked up at the screen. I was so gobsmacked. There they were, my two babies!! I went into the ultrasound thinking the worst but not only our baby was healthy but there were two!! two healthy babies!!!! We were over the moon!! parents to two at twenty two and twenty four? Our hands were going to be full, but so was our hearts!!
My mum dropped to the floor when i told her, she was ecstatic. Okay yes i did have twins in my family but they go far back and we didn’t know we had twins in my family until my mum had asked family members so it was a massive shock!! a good shock of course. It was amazing watching our two little beans on the screen, best feeling in the world knowing that me & Jamie had created them! It was magical, It really was. The sonographer told us our due date was 26th Of April 2014. She explained that our twins had a placenta each and they had their own sac so our twins were classed as DCDA/Fraternal which means non-identical. She explained that there’s a 1 in 3 chance they still could be identical. but to be honest, everything she said is a complete blur to me, i just couldn’t stop looking at my two little beans on the screen. i Went to work that day and spewed all over my car in shock, I was over the moon, but no one is ready to be told there’s two babies growing inside of you.
I couldnt help but wonder if we Would be able to cope with two babies? Would we be able to cope financially? Time would tell !TWINS 21.10.2013

23 thoughts on “Finding out we were pregnant… with Twins!!!

  1. Awww such a lovely story! I did several pregnancy tests with my first, just to make sure the tests were accurate! I always wanted twins, but there is no family history. My Friends Mum is a twin, my friend is a twin and she had twins as well! Very jealous lol!

    Laura x x x

    Like

  2. What a lovely surprise and probably shocking too! I was only 17 when I had to tell my parents I was pregnant and was so nervous. I was only having 1 baby but the first of me and my sisters to make my parents grandparents.Twins run in our family, yet none of us have had any. I will not be having any more either as mine are now 13 and nearly 19 years old.

    Like

    1. it sure was a lovely surprise Rachel, really didn’t expect it! its always scary telling our parents isn’t it? i think even in my thirties i would still be nervous telling them lol! thank you for stopping by! xx

      Like

  3. Oh my goodness! We have friends expecting twins next year… I shall have to point them in the direction of your blog! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

